The Liebster Award

Yayyy!!! I have been nominated for The Liebster Award           Image from lauurena.com

Lindsey from Side By Side Learning nominated me for this award, what a wonderful platform for bloggers. Thank you Lindsay – i am honoured. Lindsay, mom of 3 writes a wonderful blog – head over to Side By Side Learning to say hello and read about their interesting ventures.

The Liebster Award is an internet based award handed from blogger to blogger. It is a wonderful opportunity to discover new blogs of similar content and a meaningful way to connect with each other. The world of blogging is vast and i am honoured to be a part of this platform.

Lindsey has asked me 11 questions, here they are along with my answers:

If you could go anywhere, right now, where would you go?

Right now, 3 out of 4 of my kids are at school. At this moment, i would collect them from school for an outing to the closest nature park. Seeing my children out in nature affords me the opportunity to see their personalities in their truest form. Being wild and free, absorbing the sunshine, exploring the intricacies of nature in all their innocence. If i could travel right now i would choose Disneyland Hong Kong, i know how much my darlings would love to see and experience their favourite characters.

 What is your favorite season and why?

I love Spring, its the perfect prelude to Summer. I love that our South African Spring is so delicately warm to enjoy the beautiful outdoors, the blooming of the purple-blossomed Jacaranda trees, the birds, the outdoors that my kids love so much, not to mention the hours of fun we enjoy in the pool.

What event do you wish you could have personally witnessed?

Hmmm, now this question deserves some thought – i think childbirth would be my first choice. I have had 4 birthing experiences, but have never witnessed the actual process (never thought of recording it either). Being on the delivering side was a most beautiful experience and i think being on the receiving end and witnessing would be equally beautiful. Seeing the first signs of life emerging – priceless.

What encouraged you to start blogging?

Often the praise i received from friends and family. Many times i would be thanked for my ideas and tips. This encouraged me to write a blog and share these idea and tips on a larger scale. Blogging also gives me the opportunity to document many of the fun activities we do.

What is the best thing you’ve ever experienced?

In general terms – motherhood. More specifically i truly enjoyed the experience and blessing of being pregnant 4 times. I truly enjoyed my time with a baby bump.

If you could have any super power, what would you choose and why?

Being able to complete everything i set out to do immediately and effortlessly – supersonic speed (haha). I have alot of goals and tasks and often i find time to be a constraint. (And of course id love to read minds too).

What is your favorite Holiday and why?

My favourite holiday is a beach holiday. All 4 of my kids love water, they love the ocean and the sand and just having fun in the sun. I have seen the biggest smiles, loudest laughs and heaps of excitement when we on the beach.

Who is someone you look up to and why?

I look up to my mom. She is a mother of 6 and she too was an absolutely hands on parent. My dad was too. But mom spent all of her good time rearing us. She chose to be a stay-at-home mom, and always made sure we were well fed, well looked after and very very much loved.

Which cartoon character do you relate most to?

The Powerpuff Girls (aren’t all mums constantly saving the world?)

What is your secret to happiness?

Simplicity, doing my best in all situations and being grateful for what i have. And when i say what i have i mean a sound mind, a sound body, a healthy family. We eat and live comfortably and get from place to place without difficulty. Always look at those who have less. They are a good lesson and reminder of how fortunate we are. Just for a moment imagine your life with one arm instead of 2, or one leg instead of 2. We are blessed. When we realise that these are the things that matter you will find that you have everything to be happy about. (And on a lighter note, when i see and hear my childrens laughter- that laughter that comes from deep within a place of true happiness – then i too feel happy)

What are you most grateful for?

My family. My health. Their health. Good friends. Motherhood. My home. These are all my blessings.

 

My List of Nominees:

Fun With Mama ,  Crafts Fun and Learning ,  Teacher Types , Rock and Roll Day Care , Stir the Wonder

My 11 questions for you:

  1. What is your favourite past time?
  2. What is your dream destination and why?
  3. What is the favourite place you have visited and why?
  4. Who inspires you and why?
  5. What was the most memorable experience for you?
  6. Name 3 items from your bucket list.
  7. What is your superpower?
  8. Do you have a favourite time of the day? And why?
  9. If you could trade one thing for something else what would it be?
  10. What makes you laugh the hardest?
  11. What is your secret to happiness?

Please read the rules for the Liebster Award.

 

Leave a Reply

